Academic Research Team

Michael Woodford (he/him)
Professor, Faculty of Social Work
Wilfrid Laurier University 
faculty_social_work_michael_woodfordMichael’s research addresses the social exclusion and inclusion of LGBTQ2S+ people, primarily focusing on university students. Much of his research examines the relationship between campus climate, including often-unintentional microaggressions (e.g. “you’re not a real woman” said to a transwoman) and outcomes, such as mental health and academic development. Wanting to foster students’ resilience to the negative effects of discrimination, he also studies the factors that promote strength and wellbeing in the context of adversity; this includes institutional factors, such as campus policies and services for LGBTQ2S+ students.

This project builds on Michael’s previous research on campus climate, which was conducted in the United States while he was a faculty member at the University of Michigan. In 2013, Michael and Kris Renn conducted the National Study of LGBTQ Student Success.

LINK TO MICHAEL’S FACULTY PAGE


Simon Coulombe
 
(he/him)
Assistant Professor, Community Psychology, Faculty of Science
Wilfrid Laurier University 
faculty_science_simon_coulombeGuided by positive psychology and socio-ecological approaches, Simon’s research examines resilience in LGBTQ2S+ individuals and people from other stigmatized communities, exploring how they can achieve wellbeing despite challenges and discrimination. Simon’s work contributes to understanding and reducing inequities faced by communities in stigmatizing circumstances (e.g., LGBTQ2S+ people with mental disorders or disabilities, people living in public housing, etc.) by considering the social and ecological factors that impact their well-being.

Simon’s work supports the empowerment of these communities by ensuring that his research can yield positive impact – for participants, researchers, and practitioners.

LINK TO SIMON’S FACULTY PAGE

Zack Marshall (he/him)
Assistant Professor, School of Social Work
McGill University 
zach_marshall_0With over 14 years experience in the areas of health and mental health, Zack’s practice has focused on working with sexual and gender minority youth and communities, people labelled with intellectual disabilities, and people who use drugs. Committed to transformative social change, his interdisciplinary program of research explores ethics, engagement, and knowledge synthesis with respect to marginalized and underrepresented communities. 

LINK TO ZACK’S FACULTY PAGE


Collaborators

Kristen Renn (she/her; they/them)
Professor of Higher, Adult & Lifelong Education,
Department of Educational Administration; College of Education
Michigan State University
Kristen RennKris’ research focuses on the intersection of student success with issues of identity in higher education, including studies of mixed-race identities, LGBTQ2S+ students and leaders of identity-based student organizations. Kris is co-principal investigator of the National Study of LGBTQ Student Success.

 

LINK TO KRIS’ FACULTY PAGE


Z Nicolazzo
(she/her)
Assistant Professor, Trans* Studies in Education
Center for the Study of Higher Education
Department of Educational Policy Studies and Practice
University of Arizona
Z NicolazzoZ’s research focuses on mapping gender across the college/university contexts, with particular focus on trans* student resilience and kinship building.  Hir specific areas of interest include: gender in higher education, research methodologies, and trans* studies. In particular, Z’s research highlights students’ experiences of the intersections of race, disability, and gender identity.  Z also writes about the use of alternative methodologies, epistemologies, and representations of knowledge.  Z is originally from New Hampshire, and in hir free time, Z enjoys cycling, reading, and spending time with hir 11 year old Westie, Grrtrude Anne. 

LINK TO Z’S FACULTY PAGE


Lauren Munro
(she/her)
PhD Candidate, Community Psychology,
Faculty of Science, Wilfrid Laurier University
Lauren Munro headshot croppedLauren is an activist-academic, artist, and writer whose personal and professional life is driven by a commitment to social justice. She has collaborated on various projects related to the health and well-being of LGBTQ2S+ youth, including research focused on microaggressions (with Michael Woodford), sexual health and HIV vulnerability, challenges facing LGBTQ2S+ immigrant and refugee youth, and Gay-Straight Alliances. Lauren strongly believes in the importance of integrating academia and grassroots activism to create projects that push boundaries and challenge the status quo. Beyond her work on LGBTQ2S+ health, Lauren has been involved in projects that cut across a variety of disciplines including Fat Studies, Sexual Health and Reproductive Justice, Mad Studies, the Social Determinants of Health, and Disability Justice.


 Current Research Staff

The Thriving on Campus research team is dedicated to training and mentoring students at all levels in LGBTQ2S+ research.

Katie Cook (they/them; she/her)
KatieCookPhoto
Katie is a PhD candidate in Wilfrid Laurier University’s Community Psychology program. Katie’s work looks at how marginalized – e.g. disabled, racialized, fat, queer – bodies are constructed and othered in various social contexts. Currently, Katie’s research is focused on using narrative and arts-based methods to understand the intergenerational effects of weight stigma. Katie is a queer, fat activist who resides in Kitchener, Ontario with their cat Zoey.

Charlie Davis (he/him; they/them)
CharlieDavisPhotoCharlie Davis is a fourth-year doctoral student in Community Psychology at Wilfrid Laurier University. His dissertation research explores the history of trans-inclusive legislation changes in Canada, with a particular interest in examining the problem-definition stage of the policy process and the discourses used in the media. Charlie is generally interested in policy analysis and understanding the interaction between policies, procedures and day-to-day enactments of human rights. He is a trans activist involved in many community-capacity building projects within the local community.

Eric Van Giessen (he/him)
EricVanGiessenPhotoEric is a first-year doctoral student in Sociology at York University. His research interests include critical sexuality studies, lived religion, and queer methodologies, including community-based research and arts-based methods. In 2016, Eric completed an MA in Social Justice & Community Engagement  at Laurier. For his MA research, he facilitated the curation of a queer collaborative poetry collection, Queerly Faithful, which explored experiences of belonging and identity in Christian faith communities of five LGBTQ+ Christians. He intends to continue this area of research in his PhD. Eric has a passion for community and justice. In his free time, he likes to walk his puppy, Mabel Rose, read fiction and poetry, share/cook meals with friends and chosen family, and soak up sunshine wherever he can find it.

Shannon Halligan (she/her)
ShannonHalliganPhotoShannon is currently completing her final semester in Wilfrid Laurier University’s Master of Social Work program. She has long been inspired by the strength and resilience of friends who are members of the LGBTQ2S+ community, despite regular experiences of explicit and implicit discrimination. From a young age, Shannon has been eager to learn how to become an effective ally for the LGBTQ2S+ community and advocate for social change. This early interest in social justice has inspired her to pursue a career in social work. In her spare time, Shannon enjoys hiking, cooking, and spending time with her dog/sidekick, Frankie.

Marianna Healey (she/her)
MariannaHealeyPhotoMarianna is a doctoral student at Wilfrid Laurier University in the Faculty of Social Work. She is passionate about using research as an advocacy tool to promote social change. Marianna has previous experience supporting the dissemination of research findings to diverse audiences. She hopes to use her knowledge, translation skills and expertise to help the findings of the Thriving on Campus project make meaningful positive changes for LGBTQ2S+ students across the province. She is grateful to be involved in this equity-focused research!

Matthew Horseman (he/him)
Matthew is a fourth-year Bachelor of Social Work student at Wilfrid Laurier University, and a Child and Youth Care graduate from Loyalist College. Matthew is completing his final placement with the Thriving on Campus team before applying to Master’s level studies. Matthew is passionate about improving the experiences of marginalized children and youth within the education and child welfare sectors, including LGBTQ2S+ children and youth, and those living with disabilities. In his spare time, Matthew enjoys reading fiction, experiencing nature, cooking, and spending time with friends and family.

Harrison Oakes (he/him)
HarrisonOakesPhotoHarrison is a Vanier Scholar and recent graduate of the doctoral program in social psychology at the University of Waterloo. He is passionate about social justice and addressing issues of inequality through his research. Having experienced a paradigm shift during his PhD, Harrison strives to apply critical theory to his psychological training to push his field’s boundaries into more equitable territory. His multi-method and interdisciplinary research has focused on LGBTQ-phobic bullying, the Supreme Court of United States’ 2015 ruling on same-sex marriage, queer men’s use of geo-social networking apps like Grindr and SCRUFF, and the impact of homophobic social environments on suspicions of boys’ sexuality. To further develop his training and expertise in social justice oriented scholarship, Harrison plans to begin his MSW in 2021.

Sophie Peckford (she/her)
SophiePeckfordPhotoSophie is currently pursuing a bilingual iBA in International Studies with a certificate in Sexuality Studies at Glendon Campus of York University. Upon graduation, she plans to pursue a Master of Social Work. Sophie is providing English to French translations for the Thriving on Campus Website. In addition to her studies, she enjoys volunteering at Sunnybrook Hospital and being involved with the International Studies Student Association as President.

Nicholas Schwabe (he/him)
profile-picture.jpgNicholas initially joined the Thriving on Campus team as a social work placement student, completing his Laurier MSW advanced standing practicum with the project. Following placement, he became the study coordinator, a position he held until October 2019. He is originally from Sudbury, where he attended Laurentian University. He is interested in examining the experiences of LGBTQ2S+ peoples, discourses of mental illness, work and society, and innovative research methods. Previously, he has been involved with occupational health research and arts-based mindfulness practices. He is currently quality assurance lead at Compass / Boussole / Akii-Izhinoogan, the lead child and youth mental health agency in the Sudbury-Manitoulin district.

Tin (he/him) 
TinPhotoTin is a fourth-year doctoral candidate at Wilfrid Laurier University in the Faculty of Social Work. His dissertation research examines intersectional discrimination, resilience, and resistance of LGBTQ2S+ people and their social well-being and mental health within LGBTQ2S+ leisure spaces. He seeks to embed health equity within his work to enhance the well-being of marginalized populations.

Maja Turkovic (she/her)
During Maja’s undergraduate studies at Western University, she stumbled upon sexuality studies and ended up majoring in it. Maja was fascinated by all aspects of sex, gender, and sexuality, from the personal to the political. Her program adopted a feminist lens, thus examining these topics with a focus on power relations. The extent to which human reproductive organs, gender identity and romantic/sexual interests influence a person’s social status, understanding of self, and quality of life is significant and unmerited. This realization awakened Maja’s desire to both personally and professionally promote the acceptance and full inclusion of the LGBTQAI2+ community in society. Maja am currently in Laurier’s MSW program, completing her practicum under the supervision of Michael Woodford with the Thriving team. Maja is grateful to have an opportunity to work with Michael and is excited to be a part of this team. Maja holds a minor in Psychology and an advanced Diploma from Fanshawe College in Business Administration, Leadership and Management. Maja speaks Serbo-Croatian/Bosnian, German and English.

Rachel Yavnai (she/her)
rachelyavnai.jpgRachel’s interest in storytelling – particularly the way in which personal narratives can empower and convey the multiplicity of human experiences – is what first brought her to this project. Her past work concerning social exclusion, visibility, and identity negotiation among religious and sexual minorities, as well as her advocacy efforts within the Kitchener-Waterloo LGBTQ2SI+ community, has affirmed her dedication to anti-oppression and inclusive policy development. When she’s not reading, Rachel likes writing short stories.


Former Research Staff

Christina Arayata (she/her) 
ChristinaArayataPhoto
Drew Burchell (he/him)
DrewBurchellPhoto
Nicole Burns (she/her)   
NicoleBurnsPhoto
Emily Cox (she/her)
image1
Rashyka Ford (she/her)
RashykaFordPhoto
Kendra Hardy (she/her)
PUZJ8689
Milas Hewson (they/them) 
unnamed
  Jessica Hutchison (she/her) 
Pic for website
Rayne Jarvis (they/them) 
rayne
Shailagh (Shaiden) Keaney (she/her)
Shaiden Keaney pic by Prestige 1
Ossian MacEachern (they/them)
john st
Alyssa Mervin (she/her) 
00.33114992_10156373384669419_5835709559863246848_n.5
Shannan Peck (she/her)
45248749_118706262455188_5372287648096321536_n
 Alicia N. Rubel (they/them)
Alicia R
Monica van Schaik (she/her)
MvanSchaikprofilepic
Kirstie Taylor (she/her)
Kirstie
Noni Vatish (she/her) 
NoniVitashPhoto

Équipe de recherche universitaire

Michael Woodford (il)
Professor, Faculty of Social Work
Université Wilfrid Laurier 
faculty_social_work_michael_woodfordLes recherches de Michael s’intéressent à l’exclusion et l’inclusion sociale des personnes LGBTQ2S+, en particulier les personnes qui étudient à l’université. Une importante part de ses recherches examine le lien entre le climat sur le campus, incluant les micro-agressions qui sont souvent non-intentionnelles (ex. dire «tu n’es pas une vraie femme» à une femme trans), et ses conséquences sur la santé mentale et le développement universitaire. Comme il souhaite encourager la résilience aux effets négatifs de la discrimination, il étudie aussi les facteurs qui favorisent les forces et le bien-être dans un contexte d’adversité. Cela inclut aussi les facteurs institutionnels comme les politiques et les services sur le campus pour les personnes LGBTQ2S+.

Ce projet s’appuie sur les recherches antérieures de Michael sur le climat sur le campus. Ces recherches ont été réalisées aux États-Unis alors qu’il était membre du corps professoral de l’Université du Michigan. En 2013, Michael et Kris Renn ont réalisé l’Étude nationale sur le succès des membres LGBTQ de la population étudiante.

LIEN VERS LA PAGE DE MICHAEL


Simon Coulombe
 
(il)
Professeur adjoint, Psychologie communautaire, Faculté des sciences
Université Wilfrid Laurier 
faculty_science_simon_coulombeFondée sur des approches psychologiques et socio-écologiques positives, la recherche de Simon examine la résilience chez les personnes LGBTQ2S+ et les membres d'autres communautés stigmatisées en explorant les moyens d’atteindre le bien-être malgré les défis et la discrimination. Les travaux de Simon contribuent à comprendre et à atténuer les inégalités vécues par les communautés éprouvant de la stigmatisation (p. ex. les personnes LGBTQ2S+ atteintes de troubles mentaux ou en situation de handicap, les personnes vivant dans des logements sociaux, etc.) en tenant compte des facteurs sociaux et écologiques ayant une incidence sur leur bien-être.

Le travail de Simon vise à soutenir l’empowerment de ces communautés en s’assurant que ses recherches produisent des impacts positifs pour les participant(e)s à la recherche, les chercheur(euse)s et les prestataires de services.

LIEN VERS LA PAGE DE SIMON

Zack Marshall (il)
Professeur adjoint, École de travail social
Université McGill 
zach_marshall_0Avec plus de 14 ans d’expérience dans les domaines de la santé et de la santé mentale, le travail de Zack porte sur les minorités sexuelles et de genre, particulièrement les jeunes et les communautés desquelles ces personnes font partie; les personnes étiquetées avec des "déficiences intellectuelles" et les personnes qui consomment des drogues. Engagé envers le changement social transformateur, son programme de recherche interdisciplinaire explore l’éthique, l’engagement et la synthèse de la connaissance en relation avec les communautés marginalisées et sous-représentées. 

LIEN VERS LA PAGE DE ZACK


Collaboratrice

Kristen Renn (elle; iel)
Professeur d'enseignement supérieur, d'éducation des adultes et d'éducation permanente
Département de l'administration de l'éducation; Collège de l’éducation
Université de Michigan
Kristen RennLa recherche de Kris porte sur l’intersection de la réussite étudiante et des questions identitaires dans l’enseignement supérieur, y compris des études sur les identités raciales métisses, les étudiants LGBTQ2S+ et les dirigeants d’organisations étudiantes fondées sur l’identité. Kris est la co-chercheuse principale de l'étude nationale sur la réussite des élèves LGBTQ.

 

LIEN VERS LA PAGE DE KRIS


Z Nicolazzo
(elle)
Professeur adjoint, Études trans* en éducation
Centre pour l’étude de l’éducation supérieure
Département d’études des politiques et des pratiques en éducation
Université de l'Arizona
Z NicolazzoLes recherches de Z se concentrent sur la cartographie des genres dans le contexte des études supérieures, avec un accent sur la construction de la résilience et des relations chez les membres trans* de la population étudiante. Ses champs d’intérêt spécifiques sont: le genre dans l’éducation supérieure, les méthodologies de recherche et les études trans*. Les recherches de Z soulignent les expériences des personnes aux intersections d’identités raciales, de situations de handicap et de genre. Z écrit également sur l’utilisation de méthodologies, d’épistémologies et de représentations de la connaissance alternatives. Z vient du New Hampshire et dans son temps libre Z aime faire du vélo, lire et passer du temps avec Grrtrude Anne, son chien Westie de 11 ans. 

LIEN VERS LA PAGE DE Z


Lauren Munro
(elle)
Candidate au doctorat en psychologie communautaire
Faculty of Science, Wilfrid Laurier University
Lauren Munro headshot croppedLauren est une activiste-universitaire, artiste et écrivaine dont la vie personnelle et professionnelle est mue par son engagement envers la justice sociale. Elle a collaboré sur de nombreux projets en lien avec la santé et le bien-être des jeunes LGBTQ2S+, notamment des recherches sur les micro-agressions (avec Michael Woodford), la santé sexuelle et la vulnérabilité au VIH, les défis auxquels font face les jeunes immigrant(e)s et réfugié(e)s LGBTQ2S+ et les groupes gais-hétéros (Gay-Straight Alliances). Lauren croit fermement à l’importance de la collaboration entre le milieu universitaire et l’activisme local pour permettre la création de projets qui repoussent les frontières et remettent en cause le statu quo. Au-delà de son travail sur la santé des personnes LGBTQ2S+, Lauren a été impliquée dans des projets qui touchent une variété de disciplines comme les fat studies, la santé sexuelle et la justice reproductive, les mad studies, les déterminants sociaux de la santé et la disability justice.


 Personnel de recherche actuel.le.s

L'équipe de recherche s’épanouir sur le campus se consacre à la formation et au mentorat d'étudiants à tous les niveaux en recherche LGBTQ2S+.

Nathan R. G. Barnett (il)
Nathan est un homme transgenre ouvertement queer, qui vit et travaille sur le territoire traditionnel des Mississaugas de la Première Nation de Scugog Island, et qui a récemment obtenu un baccalauréat en travail social de l'Université Trent. Tout au long de ses études, Nathan s'est consacré à l'apprentissage et à l'enseignement des expériences queer dans l'enseignement postsecondaire, notamment en organisant des événements Queering Academia sur le campus pour souligner le manque de voix queer dans l'enseignement postsecondaire et en s'impliquant dans son syndicat étudiant.e, où il continue de travailler en tant que vice-président des affaires universitaires. Dans son temps libres, Nathan aime déconstruire la culture pop et faire de la couture.

Kelly Bowman (elle; iel)
Kelly est une étudiante en maîtrise de travail social à l'Université Wilfrid Laurier (WLU) qui possède des identités et des expériences pertinentes pour le projet S’épanouir. Elle est titulaire d'un HBA en médias et intérêt public de l'Université Western et de trois certificats d'études supérieures : Développement économique communautaire de l'Université Simon Fraiser, Rédaction de demandes de subventions de l'Université Dalhousie et Évaluation de programmes de la WLU. Kelly a passé plusieurs années à effectuer des recherches financées par le gouvernement (fédéral, provincial et municipal) afin de cerner les besoins des communautés exclues et ciblées (souvent, mais pas exclusivement, les personnes LGBTQ2S+) pour mesurer l'impact des programmes et améliorer les interventions - tant au Canada qu'à l'étranger. Aujourd'hui, iel est une professionnel.le de la santé mentale qui se spécialise dans le travail avec les jeunes adultes et s'appuie sur son expérience dans les contextes de l'enseignement postsecondaire, des soins de santé et des organismes sans but lucratif. Kelly est ravie de participer à la stratégie d'application des connaissances du projet S’épanouir et a hâte de mettre en œuvre les principaux résultats dans son propre travail.

Katie Cook (iel; elle)
KatieCookPhoto
Katie est candidat·e au doctorat au programme de psychologie communautaire de l’Université Wilfrid Laurier. Le travail de Katie examine la façon dont les corps marginalisés - p. ex. handicapés, racis. , gros, queer - sont construits et relégués aux marges dans divers contextes sociaux. Les recherches de Katie portent actuellement sur l’utilisation de méthodes narratives et artistiques afin de comprendre les effets intergénérationnels de la stigmatisation liée au poids. Katie est un·e activiste queer et gros·se qui habite à Kitchener, en Ontario, avec son chat Zoey.

Emily Cox (elle)
image1Emily est une diplômée récente du programme de maîtrise en psychologie communautaire de l'Université Wilfrid Laurier. Ses recherches ont porté sur le bien-être et les expériences communautaires des nouveaux arrivant.e.s 2SLGBTQ+ et sur les stratégies d'autogestion que ces personnes utilisent pour promouvoir et maintenir leur bien-être. Elle est passionnée par l'éducation du public et l'application des connaissances comme moyen de promouvoir des environnements sûrs et inclusifs pour les personnes 2SLGBTQ+. Dans ses temps libres, Emily aime passer du temps avec sa famille et ses ami.e.s, faire de l'artisanat et câliner ses animaux de compagnie.

Charlie Davis (il; iel)
CharlieDavisPhotoCharlie Davis est un étudiant au doctorat de quatrième année en psychologie communautaire à l'Université Wilfrid Laurier. Sa thèse de recherche explore l'histoire des changements législatifs trans- inclusifs au Canada, avec un intérêt particulier en examiner l'étape du processus politique de définition des problèmes et les discours utilisés dans les médias. Charlie s'intéresse généralement à l'analyse des politiques et à la compréhension de l'interaction entre les politiques, les procédures et les réalisations quotidiennes des droits de la personne. Il est un activiste trans impliqué dans de nombreux projets de renforcement des capacités communautaires au sein de la communauté locale.

Eric Van Giessen (il)
EricVanGiessenPhotoEric est un étudiant de première année au doctorat en sociologie à l'Université York. Ses recherches portent notamment sur les études critiques de la sexualité, la religion et les méthodologies queer, y compris la recherche communautaire et les méthodes fondées sur les arts. En 2016, Eric a complété une maîtrise en justice sociale et engagement communautaire à Laurier. Dans le cadre de sa maîtrise, il a facilité la compilation de Queerly Faithful, un recueil de poèmes queer collaboratif explorant les expériences d'appartenance et d'identité dans les communautés chrétiennes de cinq individus chrétiens LGBTQ+. Il a l'intention de poursuivre ces recherches au doctorat. Eric est passionné par la communauté et la justice. Dans ses temps libres, il aime promener sa chienne Mabel Rose, lire de la fiction et de la poésie, partager/cuisiner des repas avec ses amis et sa famille choisie ainsi que profiter du soleil partout où il peut le trouver.

Shannon Halligan (elle)
ShannonHalliganPhotoShannon termine actuellement son dernier semestre dans le programme de maîtrise en travail social de l’Université Wilfrid Laurier. Elle a longtemps été inspirée par la force et la résilience d’ami.e.s membres de la communauté LGBTQ2S +, malgré des expériences régulières de discrimination explicite et implicite. Depuis sa jeunesse, Shannon a hâte d’apprendre comment devenir un allié efficace pour la communauté LGBTQ2S + et prôner le changement social. Cet intérêt pour la justice sociale l’a inspirée à poursuivre une carrière en travail social. Dans son temps libre, Shannon aime faire de la randonnée, cuisiner et passer du temps avec son chien et acolyte, Frankie.

Marianna Healey (elle)
MariannaHealeyPhotoMarianna est étudiante au doctorat à l'Université Wilfrid Laurier à la Faculté de service social. Elle est passionnée par l'utilisation de la recherche pour prôner le changement social. Marianna a de l'expérience dans le soutien à la diffusion des résultats de la recherche à divers publics. Elle espère utiliser ses connaissances, ses compétences en traduction et son expertise pour aider les conclusions du projet S’Épanouir sur le campus à apporter des changements positifs importants pour les étudiant.e.s LGBTQ2S + de la province. Elle est reconnaissante de participer à cette recherche axée sur l'équité!

Matthew Horseman (il)
Matthew est un étudiant de quatrième année au baccalauréat en travail social à l'Université Wilfrid Laurier et un diplômé en soins à l'enfance et à la jeunesse du Collège Loyalist. Matthew termine son stage final avec l’équipe de S’épanouir sur le campus avant de postuler aux études de niveau master. Matthew est passionné par l'amélioration des expériences des enfants et des jeunes marginalisé.e.s dans les secteurs de l'éducation et du bien-être de l'enfance, y compris les enfants et les jeunes LGBTQ2S + et ceux vivant avec un handicap. Dans son temps libre, Matthew aime lire de la fiction, découvrir la nature, cuisiner et passer du temps avec ses ami.e.s et sa famille.

Harrison Oakes (il)
HarrisonOakesPhotoHarrison est un boursier Vanier et récemment diplômé du programme de doctorat en psychologie sociale de l'Université de Waterloo. Il est passionné par la justice sociale et aborde les problèmes d'inégalité à travers ses recherches. Depuis avoir connu un changement de paradigme pendant son doctorat, Harrison s'efforce d'appliquer la théorie critique à sa formation psychologique pour repousser les limites de son domaine vers un territoire plus équitable. Ses recherches multi-méthodes et interdisciplinaires se sont concentrées sur l'intimidation LGBTQ-phobique, la décision de la Cour suprême des États-Unis de 2015 sur le mariage homosexuel.le, l'utilisation par les hommes queer des applications de réseautage géosocial comme Grindr et SCRUFF, et l'impact des environnements sociaux homophobes sur les soupçons de sexualité des garçons. Pour développer davantage sa formation et son expertise dans l’érudition axée sur la justice sociale, Harrison prévoit de commencer son MSW en 2021.

Sophie Peckford (elle)
SophiePeckfordPhotoSophie poursuit un iBA bilingue en études internationales avec un certificat en études de la sexualité au campus Glendon de l'Université York. Une fois son diplôme obtenu, elle aimerait poursuivre une maîtrise en travail social. Sophie fournit des traductions de l'anglais au Français pour le site web S’épanouir sur le campus. En plus de ses études, elle aime faire du bénévolat à l'hôpital Sunnybrook et travailler avec l'Association des étudiantes en études internationales en tant que présidente.

Nicholas Schwabe (il)
profile-picture.jpgNicholas s'est d'abord joint à l'équipe de S’épanouir sur le campus dans le cadre de son placement d’étudiant en travail social après avoir terminé son stage avancé de maitrise en travail social au sein du projet. Après son placement, il est devenu coordinateur des études, poste qu'il a occupé jusqu'en octobre 2019. Il est originaire de Sudbury, où il a fréquenté l'Université Laurentienne. Il s'intéresse aux expériences des personnes LGBTQ2S+, aux discours sur la maladie mentale, au travail et à la société, ainsi qu'aux méthodes de recherche innovantes. Il a participé à des recherches sur la santé au travail et à des pratiques de pleine conscience artistiques. Il est actuellement responsable de l'assurance de la qualité chez Compass/Boussole/Akii-Izhinoogan, la principale agence de santé mentale pour enfants et adolescents de Sudbury-Manitoulin.

Tin (il) 
TinPhotoTin est doctorant en quatrième année à l'Université Wilfrid Laurier à la Faculté de service social. Sa thèse de recherche examine la discrimination intersectionnelle, la résilience et la résistance des personnes LGBTQ2S + ainsi que leur bien-être social et leur santé mentale dans les espaces de loisirs LGBTQ2S+. Il cherche à intégrer l'équité en santé dans son travail pour améliorer le bien-être des populations marginalisé.e.s.

Maja Turkovic (elle)
Au cours de ses études de premier cycle à l'Université Western, Maja est tombée sur des études sur la sexualité et a fini par s'y spécialiser. Elle était fascinée par tous les aspects du sexe, du genre et de la sexualité, du personnel au politique. Le programme de Maja a utilisé une optique féministe, alors elle a examiné ces sujets en mettant l'accent sur les relations de pouvoir. La mesure dans laquelle les organes reproducteurs humains, l’identité de genre et les intérêts romantiques / sexuels influencent le statut social d’une personne, sa compréhension de soi et sa qualité de vie est importante et non méritée. Cette prise de conscience a réveillé le désir de Maja de promouvoir à la fois personnellement et professionnellement l’acceptation et la pleine inclusion de la communauté LGBTQAI2 + dans la société. Elle suit actuellement le programme MSW de Laurier et termine son stage sous la supervision de Michael Woodford au sein de l’équipe S’épanouir sur le campus. Elle est reconnaissante d'avoir l'opportunité de travailler avec Michael et est ravie de faire partie de cette équipe. Maja est titulaire d'une mineure en psychologie et d'un diplôme avancé du Collège Fanshawe en administration des affaires, leadership et gestion. Elle parle serbo-croate / bosniaque, allemand et anglais.

Rachel Yavnai (elle)
rachelyavnai.jpgC’est l’intérêt de Rachel pour les récits de vie, particulièrement comment les histoires personnelles peuvent favoriser l’empowerment et transmettre la multiplicité des expériences humaines, qui l’a conduite vers le présent projet. Ses travaux passés concernant l’exclusion sociale, la visibilité et la négociation des identités au sein des minorités religieuses et sexuelles, tout comme ses efforts pour la défense des droits dans la communauté LGBTQ2SI+ de Kitchener-Waterloo, ont démontré son engagement face au développement de politiques anti-oppressives et inclusives. Quand elle ne lit pas, Rachel aime écrire des nouvelles.

Farhana Zafar (elle)
Farhana est une étudiante de deuxième année de premier cycle qui travaille sur un baccalauréat en sciences appliquées en études de la justice et d'un diplôme en fondements de la police. Elle a choisi ce programme spécifiquement parce qu'elle veut mieux comprendre pourquoi le système de justice est tel qu'il est et quels changements sont nécessaires pour que le système de justice fonctionne pour toutes les personnes marginalisées. Farhana est passionnée par la justice sociale et a fait du bénévolat et travaillé pour diverses organisations, notamment Regeneration Outreach, Peel Committee Against Women Abuse, Humanity First, Interim Place, Canadian Food for Children, Peel Public Health et OUTline. Quand elle n’est pas bénévole, Farhana aime s'informer sur la politique, car cela lui permet de mieux comprendre le monde qui l'entoure. 


Ancien.ne.s personnel de recherche

Christina Arayata (elle) 
ChristinaArayataPhoto
Drew Burchell (il)
DrewBurchellPhoto
Nicole Burns (elle)   
NicoleBurnsPhoto
Rashyka Ford (elle)
RashykaFordPhoto
Kendra Hardy (elle)
PUZJ8689

Milas Hewson (iel) 
unnamed
  Jessica Hutchison (elle) 
Pic for website
  Rayne Jarvis (iel) 
rayne
Shailagh (Shaiden) Keaney (elle)
Shaiden Keaney pic by Prestige 1
Ossian MacEachern (iel)
john st
Alyssa Mervin (elle) 
00.33114992_10156373384669419_5835709559863246848_n.5
Shannan Peck (elle)
45248749_118706262455188_5372287648096321536_n
 Alicia N. Rubel (iel)
Alicia R
Monica van Schaik (elle)
MvanSchaikprofilepic
Kirstie Taylor (elle)
Kirstie
Noni Vatish (elle) 
NoniVitashPhoto