Committee Role

Informed by their various perspectives and areas of expertise, committee members help to facilitate the study’s successful implementation by providing their feedback to the research team. Also, they help to interpret and disseminate the findings, including informing the development of recommendations to shape policies and programs tailored to the needs of LGBTQ2S+ students.

Advisory Committee Member Organizations

Advisory Committee Members



Canadian Centre for Gender and Sexual Diversity

Jeremy Dias 
(they/them)
Member, Advisory Committee
unnamedThe Canadian Centre for Gender and Sexual Diversity intersectionally promotes diversity in gender identity, gender expression, and romantic and/or sexual orientation in all its forms on a national level through services in the areas of education, health, and advocacy. Our resources and programming can be used to uplift gender and sexual minorities, as well as give the tools to wider populations in building allyship.

“I am so delighted to be part of this project. As a university student I was attacked twice after being identified as gay on campus. I was disappointed with the lack of support, resources and tools from my university, and hopeful that this project will work to create safer spaces for learning.”

Canadian Federation of Students
Trina
James (she/her)
Treasurer
rgb_trina_-4271070078-1543524699735.jpgThe Canadian Federation of Students is a non-profit organization that represents over 500,000 students across the country creating untied voice to advocate for the diverse needs of students.

“As a queer woman of colour, I feel it is important to advocate for on-campus resources to support LGBTQ2S+ students that are reflective of their unique and embedded within all aspects of campus life.”

Egale
Lee Cameron
(they/them; she/her)
Research Officer
leeheadshot (2)Egale Canada Human Rights Trust (Egale) is Canada’s only national charity working to improve the lives of LGBTQI2S people in Canada and to enhance the global response to LGBTQI2S issues.

“Queer and trans student organizing changes systems and changes the world! I’m excited for a project dedicated to improving post-secondary experiences for LGBTQI2S students across the intersections so that students and the movements they build can thrive.”

LGBT Youth Line
Berkha Gupta (they/them)
Executive Director
IMG-20180322-WA0001LGBT Youth Line is a 2SLGBTQ youth-led organization that affirms and supports the experiences of youth across Ontario through anonymous peer support and referrals, training and providing resources to youth to make informed decisions.

“I’m looking forward to hear about student experiences, getting more in-depth research related to intersectional identities so we can continue to building more positive environments for 2SLGBTQ youth.”

Ontario Committee on Student Affairs (OCSA)
Nona Robinson (she/her)
Associate Vice President Students, Trent University
nona-2017.jpgOCSA consists of the senior administrator at each Ontario university holding responsibility for student issues, the student experience and the majority of services and programs designed to serve and support students at the institution. The OCSA provides a forum for information sharing and discussion of emerging policy and practice on student issues facing Ontario’s universities.

 “Supporting LGBTQ students is an important aspect of student affairs work, including ensuring that services are in place, and also working to identify and address any barriers to inclusion. Issues and concerns outside the university (e.g. community homophobia, family dynamics) can also affect LGBTQ students. The survey work will help OCSA members to better understand what is needed to help ensure LGBTQ student success.”

Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance
Britney De Costa (she/her)
Research and Policy Analyst
img_1018-2-1OUSA represents 150,000 undergraduate and professional students from 8 student associations across Ontario. Our advocacy is based on creating substantive, student driven, and evidence-based policy recommendations to the provincial government.

 “There is currently a gap in evidence to support meaningful policy and service development to support LGBTQ2S+ students on campuses across the province. The results of this project will help us better understand the experiences of and resources available for LGBTQ2S+ students so that we can better advocate for improved access to and safety in post-secondary education.”

University of Toronto
David Pereira
(he/him)
Sexual and Gender Diversity Officer
DPereira_PridePub2018(2)David is pleased to be joining this project’s advisory committee. Along with his role in the SGDO, David is an instructor in the Sexual Diversity Studies Program at the University of Toronto where he teachers about queer youth in formal, non-formal and informal educational contexts. http://sgdo.utoronto.ca/

“My hope is that this project sheds light on the diverse experiences of queer youth, particularly of those of queer youth of colour and on the margins, to bring greater awareness of the work that remains to be done on campuses throughout Ontario concerning LGBTQ+ inclusivity.”

University of Toronto
Allison Burgess
(she/her)
Sexual and Gender Diversity Officer
– Currently on leave –  2016-06-21-Allison-Burgess photo by Romi Levine
The U of T Sexual & Gender Diversity Office develops partnerships to build supportive learning and working communities at the University of Toronto by working toward equity and challenging discrimination. The Office provides innovative education, programming, resources and advocacy on sexual and gender diversity for students, staff and faculty across the University’s three campuses.

“This is an important project that thinks deeply about the complexity and intersectionality of LGBTQ+ student wellness across Ontario universities. I am glad to be a part of a project that considers students’ abilities to flourish and succeed while pursuing higher education.”

University of Guelph
Jarred Sanchez-Cacnio
(they/them)
Sexual and Gender Diversity Advisor
SE-7323 (1)Jarred’s role at U of G is focused on supporting the success of LGBTQ2IA+ students, and advocating for informed and inclusive policies and practices for queer and trans students at the university.

“I’m looking forward to the critical examination of queer and trans student experiences across Ontario, especially racialized and non-binary students. Particularly exciting about this project is the opportunity to inform the reformation of institutional and systemic practices and dismantling barriers to LGBTQ2S+ student success.”

Rôle du Comité

À la lumière de leurs perspectives et de leurs champs d’expertise variés, les membres du comité favorisent l’implantation réussie de l’étude en donnant de la rétroaction à l’équipe de recherche. Ils aident aussi à l’interprétation et la diffusion des résultats, notamment par l’élaboration de recommandations qui définissent des politiques et programmes ajustés aux besoins de la population étudiante LGBTQ2S+.

Les organisations membres du comité consultatif

Les membres du Comité consultatif



Centre canadien pour la diversité des genres et de la sexualité

Jeremy Dias 
(iel)
Membre, Comité consultatif
unnamedL’approche du Centre canadien pour la diversité des genres et de la sexualité est axée sur la promotion intersectionnelle de la diversité : l’identité de genre, l’expression de genre et toutes les formes d’orientation romantique ou sexuelle. Cette promotion se fait au niveau national, au sein des services d’éducation et de santé ainsi que par la défense des droits. Nos ressources et nos programmes peuvent être utilisés pour favoriser l’épanouissement des minorités sexuelles et de genre ainsi que pour donner des outils à des groupes plus larges afin de créer des alliances et jouer un rôle d’allié(e).

«C’est un plaisir pour moi de prendre part à ce projet. Lorsque j’étudiais à l’université, j’ai été victime d’attaque deux fois parce que l’on m’identifiait comme personne gaie. Le manque de soutien, de ressources et d’outils de mon université m’a causé une grande déception et j’espère que ce projet permettra de créer des espaces d’apprentissage sécuritaires ».

Fédération canadienne des étudiantes et étudiants
Trina
James (elle)
Trésorière
rgb_trina_-4271070078-1543524699735.jpgLa Fédération canadienne des étudiants et étudiantes est une organisation à but non lucratif qui représente plus de 500 000 étudiant(e)s à travers le pays, mettant de l’avant une parole libérée pour faire le plaidoyer des divers besoins des étudiant(e)s.

« En tant que femme de couleur queer, je crois qu’il est important de faire le plaidoyer pour obtenir des ressources de soutien pour les personnes LGBTQ2S+ sur les campus. Ces ressources doivent être spécifiques et intégrées à tous les aspects de la vie sur les campus».

Egale
Lee Cameron
(iel; elle)
Agente de recherche
leeheadshot (2)Egale Canada Human Rights Trust (Egale) est la seule organisation caritative canadienne travaillant à l’amélioration, d’une part, de la qualité de vie des personnes LGBTQI2S au Canada et, d’autre part, de la réponse internationale aux questions LGBTQI2S.

« Les étudiants queer et trans qui s’organisent entre eux transforment les systèmes et changent le monde! Je suis excitée à l’idée d’un projet dédié à l'amélioration des expériences postsecondaires des étudiants LGBTQI2S qui tient compte des identités intersectionnelles afin que les étudiants et les mouvements qu'ils construisent puissent prospérer. »

LGBT Youth Line
Berkha Gupta (iel)
Direction exécutive
IMG-20180322-WA0001LGBT Youth Line est une organisation 2SLGBTQ dirigée par des jeunes, qui valorise et appuie les expériences des jeunes à travers l’Ontario. L’organisme remplit sa mission en offrant du soutien par les pairs anonyme, un service de référence et de formation, ainsi que des ressources permettant aux jeunes de faire des choix éclairés.

« J’attends avec impatience les récits des expériences des personnes étudiantes ainsi que l’accès à plus de recherche approfondie sur les identités intersectionnelles pour que nous puissions continuer à créer davantage d’environnements positifs pour les jeunes 2SLGBTQ ».

Ontario Committee on Student Affairs (OCSA)
Nona Robinson (elle)
Vice-présidente associée, Université Trent
nona-2017.jpgL’OCSA est composé des administrateur(trice)s responsables, dans chaque université ontarienne, des questions étudiantes, de l’expérience étudiante et de la majorité des services et programmes de soutien à la population étudiante. L’OCSA fournit un forum permettant d’échanger de l’information et de discuter des politiques et pratiques émergentes quant aux questions étudiantes auxquelles les universités de l’Ontario font face.

 « Soutenir les personnes LGBTQ est un aspect important des services étudiants, en s’assurant que les services sont en place, mais aussi en identifiant les barrières à l’inclusion. Des questions et des préoccupations extérieures à l’université (ex. l’homophobie dans la communauté, les dynamiques familiales) affectent aussi les personnes LGBTQ qui étudient à l’université. Cette enquête aidera les membres du OCSA à mieux comprendre ce qui doit être fait pour assurer le succès des membres LGBTQ de la population étudiante ».

Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance (en anglais seulement)
Britney De Costa (elle)
Analyste de la recherche et des politiques
img_1018-2-1OUSA représente les intérêts de plus de 150 000 étudiants au premier cycle et aux cycles supérieurs, issus de 8 associations étudiantes à travers l'Ontario. Notre plaidoyer envers le gouvernement provincial passe par la formulation de recommandations de politiques concrètes, axées sur les étudiants et basées sur les données probantes.

 «Il existe actuellement un manque de preuves scientifiques pour informer l'élaboration de politiques et de services utiles pour soutenir la population étudiante LGBTQ2S + présente sur les campus de la province. Les résultats de ce projet nous aideront à mieux comprendre les expériences vécues et les ressources disponibles pour la population étudiante LGBTQ2S + afin d’améliorer l'accès et la sécurité dans l'enseignement postsecondaire».

Université de Toronto
David Pereira
(il)
Responsable Diversité sexuelle et de genre
DPereira_PridePub2018(2)David est heureux de faire partie du comité consultatif de ce projet. Outre son rôle au sein du bureau de la diversité sexuelle et de genre, David est instructeur au programme d'études sur la diversité sexuelle de l'Université de Toronto, où il enseigne aux jeunes queer dans des contextes pédagogiques formels, non formels et informels. http://sgdo.utoronto.ca/

« J’espère que ce projet mettra en lumière les diverses expériences des jeunes queer, surtout celles des jeunes queer de couleur ou marginalisé(e)s, pour sensibiliser sur le travail qu’il reste à faire sur les campus à travers l’Ontario concernant l’inclusion des personnes LGBTQ+ ».

Université de Toronto
Allison Burgess
(elle)
Responsable Diversité sexuelle et de genre
– Actuellement en congé –  2016-06-21-Allison-Burgess photo by Romi Levine
Le Bureau de la diversité sexuelle et de genre de l’Université de Toronto développe des partenariats pour mettre en place, au sein de l’université, des communautés de soutien au niveau du travail et des études. Il accomplit cette mission en travaillant pour l’équité et en s’opposant à la discrimination. Le Bureau offre un service innovateur d’éducation, de programmes, de ressources et de plaidoyer concernant la diversité sexuelle et de genre pour la communauté étudiante, le personnel de soutien et le personnel enseignant à travers les trois campus de l’université.

« Il s’agit d’un projet important qui fait une réflexion en profondeur sur la complexité et l’intersectionnalité du bien-être des membres LGBTQ+ de la population étudiante dans les universités d’Ontario. Je suis heureuse de participer à un projet qui prend en compte leur capacité de s’épanouir en poursuivant des études supérieures ».

Université de Guelph
Jarred Sanchez-Cacnio
(iel)
Conseiller·ère en matière de diversité sexuelle et de genre
SE-7323 (1)Le rôle de Jarred à l'Université de Guelph est axé sur le succès des étudiants LGBTQ2IA+ et sur le fait de préconiser des politiques et des pratiques éclairées et inclusives pour les étudiants queer et trans de l’université.

« Il me tarde que l’on effectue l’examen critique des expériences des étudiants queers et trans en Ontario, en particulier celles des étudiants racisés et non binaires. Ce projet est particulièrement excitant car il offre une occasion de réformer les pratiques institutionnelles et systémiques et de démanteler les obstacles à la réussite des élèves LGBTQ2IA+. »